Monday, June 15, 2009

Goodbye Until Next Year!

Hey, so here's one last question that's been sitting in the GSA's inbox for a while. Nothing's going to be posted on here over the summer (I know, because we post so frequently during the school year...) but the blog will start up again (for real this time!!) next year. Of course, feel free to keep commenting/asking us questions, and we'll answer them all when school starts up again. So HAVE A WONDERFUL SUMMER and we'll see you next fall!

Q: I've been really close with one of my female friends (I'm a girl) for two years now, although we've been friends for ages. We're really physical with each other + sexually open and stuff -- for example, whenever we're together, we're always touching really closely or lying on top of each other, and it's not awkward at all. She's like this with a lot of her other friends too, though, so I don't think it's sexual. Both of us are (primarily) straight, and we spend a lot of time talking about guys and obsessing over celebrities.
Recently, though, we've been spending three or four hours talking over IM each night, and on the nights when she has too much homework to talk, I become pathetically depressed and I don't know what to do. On the other hand, last weekend she was away until Sunday night, and when I got an email from her at 11 at night I became ridiculously happy. If she were a guy, I'd think I had a crush on her, but since I'm only bicurious I don't know. (I've wanted to try kissing her for a a while now, although I've also wanted to try kissing one of my other friends, because they're both pretty and open to...whatever. I'd say I'm more attracted to guys, though.)
So I don't know if it's a really close friendship or something else. I'm not averse to it being something else, although I know she wouldn't return my feelings if I actually had them (she wouldn't freak out, though). But I really don't know what's going on.
Advice?

A: I would say that the best thing you could do would be to talk to her about your conflicted feelings. It seems to basically come down to this: you're very good friends (so you're already deeply emotionally connected), you're comfortable being physically close to each other, and you think you might want to try dating/hooking up with girls at some point. I think you should be honest with her about your feelings, stressing that you like spending time with her and being her friend and certainly don't want to ruin that friendship but that you may be interested in at least trying to make it more than a friendship. Maybe she feels the same way, and maybe she doesn't, but ultimately if you want to stay good friends with her I think you should be honest about your feelings, including your confusion. Your lying to her or just not telling her how you truly feel will ultimately hurt your friendship.
I also wouldn't worry so much about what the labels you've decided upon for yourselves imply you should be or do. Just because you think you're primarily straight doesn't mean that it's impossible for you to find girls attractive or want to be with them, and saying that you're "only bicurious" implies that you think that bicuriosity isn't enough to guarantee that this is a real crush. Ultimately, what matters is how you feel and what you're comfortable with, not what term you use to describe yourself. You can always switch the term.

Friday, May 29, 2009

Election Results are in!

Dear everyone who reads this blog,
if you weren't at GSA today, we had elections, and the results were as follows:
Co-Presidents: Maia McCormick & Lucie Prather
Publicity Secretary: Ariel Estrella
Treasurer: Filipa Ioannou
Recording Secretary: Hava Rogatsky

Congrats to all new officers and to everyone who ran. Next year will be a new, awesome year, and GSA will be better than ever--so if you read this blog and don't currently come to GSA, consider starting next year. It'll be awesome.

More answers going up soon. Stop by our carnival booth next week and get married!

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Pink Shirts Hurrah!


Submitted via comment (thank you to whoever sent me this, it made me smile, especially after watching the new NoM Monstrosity <-- not for the faint of heart--I'm not going to embed it, it's too disgusting and too much of a downer). Well, the gist of the article (which you can read HERE), is that, at some random school, this kid got harassed and called gay slurs and threatened with physical violence for wearing a pink shirt. So these two senior guys organized about half the school into coming in wearing pink shirts. The attackers got really angry and flustered. And it was a great statement. Absolutely terrific. I want to give those two guys a hug. Makes me happy ^^

Also, courtesy of Hava:

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Fruits of the Gender Workshop, DoS, a GLSEN Survey

So for anyone who follows this blog who didn't come to GSA this past Friday (unlikely, but hey, you never know), we did a gender workshop thing where everyone mapped (or attempted to map) their gender identity and gender presentation on this little chart thing where the Y-axis is male to female, and the X-axis is masculine to feminine. It was tough for a lot of us but enlightening, and the results are going to be posted on the GSA board some time this week--check them out. But I wanted to share possibly the best quote of the meeting, from Filipa describing how she graphed her gender identity: "so, I drew a sort of arch [spanning Female-Feminine to Female-Masculine] because I'm sort of everywhere. Then... I turned it into a stegosaurus. Because... my gender identity fluctuates like the spikes on a stegosaurus. And because sometimes I wish I could identify as a dinosaur."

Hunter's Day of Silence happens this Thursday!!! Day of Silence, for those of you who don't know, is a day when GLBTQ people and their allies choose to not speak for an entire day to show support of those who have been forced into silence and are not able to speak their minds or be themselves. It's a great way to raise awareness and show support. Hunter being the wonderful place it is, teachers are pretty chill about this and won't make a fuss about you not speaking during class (though you can't use DoS as an excuse to get out of oral reports, etc.). GSA will be handing out speaking cards for you to hand out to people (that say that you're participating in DoS) Thursday before school at the main entrance, or you can print out your own from GLSEN's website (pdf HERE). Some people who do DoS take a break and speak during their lunch hour, some people communicate via notes, some people do not communicate in any way at all. How you participate is up to you, but anything you can do--even just showing support to the people who are silent--helps. There may or may not be T-shirt making outside the auditorium tomorrow (Monday) after school; swing by.

And lastly, GLSEN has posted a survey about the experiences of GLBTQ youth in school (find it HERE); if you've got an extra 10 minutes, take a look at it.

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Day of Silence: Correction

Hey all. Hope everyone's break is going smashingly. So in the last post we mentioned that the idiots at GLSEN, love them though we do, put Day of Silence during our break (Friday, so be specific), so Hunter's having its own personal DoS Thursday, April 30th (the Thursday a week after we get back), with a follow-up meeting to discuss everyone's experiences the next day (Friday) at GSA (rm. 206). Also, the Monday before our DoS (that is, April 27th), after school there'll be T-shirt making, so you can paint your own message on a shirt to wear on DoS, whether you're being silent or just supporting those who are. If you've got any questions/would like to know more about DoS, leave us a comment! Peace out!

Thursday, April 9, 2009

Anyone But Me Watch "Anyone But Me?"

Ahaha, look at that title, I'm so witty. ANYWAY. Does anyone else watch Anyone But Me? It's a very fun gay little webseries by Tina Cesa Ward about teenage Vivian McMillan, who's forced to move from New York City (whoooo!) to Westchester because of her firefighter-father's health problems, leaving behind her life and, most importantly, her girlfriend, Astor. There are a few moments of weird/awkward voiceovers or lamentable music placement, but over all, this series is really well-acted and well-written, very personable, very true, and did I mention VERY CUTE? You can go to the Anyone But Me website HERE, and watch the episodes HERE. It's incredibly adorable, and has some wonnnnnderful moments of the warm-and-fuzzy variety, and really, I would just recommend following it. The first episode is below. HAPPY BREAK, EVERYBODY! Go out and celebrate Iowa and Vermont. (And Passover and Easter, I guess... but those aren't nearly as exciting. Except for the clearance candy.)

Oh, one more important piece of news: the official Day of Silence falls over our break this year (April 17, next Friday). Hunter's Day of Silence will be some time the week after we get back from break--keep your eyes peeled for blogposts/signs.

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

So Much Gay Marriage!!!!

In a wonderful wonderful wonderful way to kick off spring break, both Iowa and Vermont have legalized gay marriage!! Go out and celebrate! Marry a gay today!

YESSSSS!!!!

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Hurrah, more questions!

The GSA show is quite probably happening on Tuesday the 7th, 3rd, 6th, and 8th. There will be much glitter!

Q:
Hey, I'm an eighth grade girl and I don't know "what" I am. I guess I don't really believe in labeling. I'm sexually attracted to other girls to some extent, but I identify as straight... For example, I would want to have girlfriends over the years, but eventually settle down with a guy unless I happened to fall in real love with a woman. Do I need a label? Does anyone else feel like this, that they're totally straight but... they identify with lesbians and gay men or whatever? Sorry this is kind of unclear. (Also maybe it's because i grew up in the village.)

A: You're not alone. I know a lot of people with similar attractions. There's no need for you to have a label: a lot of sexualities just don't really fit cleanly into the tertiary of gay/straight/bi and that's fine. If people ask what you are, you can either tell them that you identify as straight, or you can tell them what you just told us, I guess. (Do the latter in cases when you're talking to a girl you might want to go out with, lol.)

A: Especially during a younger time in life (like eighth grade), and especially after growing up in an environment as open and wonderful as the Village, there might be a bit of confusion over sexuality -- it's totally normal, and yeah, you're definitely not alone. Many people who identify as straight can have sexual feelings for the same sex, and can relate with homosexuals. No one needs a label, you can identify with whatever you'd like. Your feelings might regulate when you get older to indicate a certain preference, but at the same time, it might not, and that's perfectly fine. Identify with what makes you feel comfortable and when you fall for someone, don't let labels get in the way, no matter who they are.

A: Labels, the way I see it, are mostly just used to allow other people see you for what you want to be seen as. If you feel like you don't fall under a label, you can either make up your own or just not use one altogether. It's completely up to you! But labels do allow people looking for other people to find one another; i.e lesbians look for lesbians. But in the end, it's all about how you feel and what you feel most comfortable with.

A: I feel almost the exact same way, and I have since probably 8th or 9th grade (I'm now a junior). For me, it was important to realize that labels are never necessary and are only sometimes at all helpful. The most important thing is always to make sure that you are comfortable with what you do and how, if at all, you identify. It's totally fine to find people of the same sex attractive and want to be with them and consider yourself mostly, or completely, straight, just like it's totally fine to be in the same situation and consider yourself bi.Again, it's all a matter of figuring out what makes you happy and what's right for you; finding a name for it is only ever secondary.

A: what do you mean when you say you identify with queer people? at the very least, you sound like a curious ally, which we like.
            if you really want a label, go with queer. it's nice and neat and includes you in the community without you having to compromise on space to revise your definition of yourself. also, with queer, people will usually ask you what that entails, or not, but at least they'll know that it probably means you're interested in women (and non-men), and doesn't necessarily mean you're not interested in men. also, i consider allies queer because it is still non-normative to be supportive of the queer community.
            in all honesty, if i were you i would be careful about telling prospective female dates about your plan to eventually settle down with a man. it's a totally legitimate plan for your future, but it might give the wrong impression to some individuals who will see you as experimenting, and not actually interested in women. besides, in 8th grade, no one is looking for a relationship to settle into for the rest of their life, so your ideas about your final partner don't really need to come into play just yet.

Q: I'm in one of the younger grades, and I've come out to my closest friends, but now people in my class are making remarks like, "oh, you're not straight, are you?" or "hey, you're into girls, right, so what's your type?" and I don't want to come out to my classmates YET, so what should I do?

A: I'd advise you to simply be honest with people when they ask you about coming out. When someone asks you something and you're not comfortable coming out to them, you can always say "I'm not really sure" or "I don't feel comfortable talking about it yet." and move on.

A: rather than being honest, which might be more forthright than you're willing to be right now, i recommend you just don't lie. Ignoring them or saying, "i'm not gonna answer that," or even an indignant "excuse me?" is perfectly acceptable (just try to make that last one sound like you cannot even believe that they would think it's ok to ask you that before you've come out to them, rather than that you cannot even believe that they might think you're not straight. the point is not to seem self-loathing or homophobic, and not to get defensive). you never have to do anything before you're ready. still, know that not addressing it is usually going to confirm their suspicions. at a certain point, it might become impossible to stay in the closet, particularly if you happen to fit some stereotypes.
            also, think about why you're not ready to come out to them, and maybe trying working on that instead. i don't know if you come to G/SA, but you should; we can help you with feeling more comfortable and ready, and support you through your coming out if that's what you eventually choose to do. also, we can show you how nice it can sometimes be to come out, which might help.

A: Oh yes. I've been there, and I remember all the wishy-washy questions freaking me out a lot. Try not to let it stress you, and remember that being out doesn't mean you've gotta put everything on the table. Simply tell them "I don't know" or "I don't want to talk about it". "Why?" is also always a good response. Not just for the purpose of shutting them up (although, it often does), but also because knowing the intent behind their questioning may make you a bit more comfortable when it comes to answering them (or chosing not to). :]

A: I don't know what the relationship between you and your classmates are, but you generally want something that'll keep them quiet but won't put them off, mainly because the possibility of coming out to them is still in the air and when you do, you'd probably want a welcoming group of peers over some who feel shut off by the way you handled it the first time around. Something quick and simple, like "does it matter?" or "why" in a non-offensive tone, as if you're laughing it off, might just work. You can try playing it off and, again laughing it off just say "who knows?"

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Answers!

Q: I know I’m gay, and I’ve dated before, but I’ve always been good friends with this guy who is also gay. he recently told me he really likes me and always wanted a relationship. He’s in another part of the state now, and a relationship would be hard, but should I try to forge one anyway?

A1: If both he and you care about each other enough to commit to a long-distance relationship, there should be no reason for you to avoid one. If you don't feel that it would mess with your friendship, and you believe he's worth the trials of long-distance, go ahead!

A2: I agree it is especially possible recently with technology. There are several chat applications such as Yahoo Messenger, Aim, iChat, Windows Live, MSN, Google Chat and more. Also you can have a video chat which feels more realistic. If you really care about him then go for it, it takes getting used to, but it may be worth it. One bonus is that the online community is usually more open and you won't have to worry about people discriminating against you.

A3: I don’t know what your ideal in dating is, but I personally need to have someone available in person. Sometimes there's just no replacement for the real deal of having someone there with you, and I think you need to weigh how important that is to you. Also, think about how a relationship might weigh in on your friendship, and if that risk is worth it.

A4: If you two live far enough away that most of your interaction would be online and/or on the phone but close enough that you could still see each other once or twice a month (and the distance is really the issue), I'd say go for it. If you're using the distance as an excuse because you're scared of ruining your friendship, however, I'd really think about it and talk to him about it before committing to anything. There is always the risk of not being able to go back to being just friends if you break up, and while I personally believe that it's better to try for the relationship, you should consider both sides because it's a valid issue.

A5: The first thing I noticed when I read your question is that you don't mention your feelings for him at all, which makes me think you might not have a romantic attachment to him, and you're somehow still reluctant to turn him down.
        If I'm wrong, and you've been waiting your whole life for him to ask you out, then go for it. Long distance relationships are work, and they're work that can have its benefits, so long as you are both clear about what you need from the relationship. Make sure to set rules that you both agree to and understand, and remember that sometimes long distance relationships take patience and flexibility.
        If I'm right, or you're not sure, it sounds to me like your thinking is really more along the lines of, "I like guys, he's a guy, he likes me, I have no reason to say no" than "I like this guy, he likes me." In my opinion, there's a big reason to say no if your only excuse for not turning him down is that you can't tell him you don't swing that way. I know it's sometimes hard to find a date at our age if you're not straight, but you really shouldn't feel like you have to settle. You're not going to have romantic chemistry with every nice (or even cute) guy who comes along. Just because you're friends doesn't mean you'll necessarily make good romantic partners. Take some time to figure out if you actually return his feelings; if he's waited this long and he actually wants an honest response from you, he'll give you more time. That way you can give him an answer based on your own feelings rather than his hope or the fact that he happens to be attracted to you and of the sex you're attracted to, and you run a much lower risk of ruining your friendship by accepting a relationship you soon after realize you don't want.

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Is a toned down "Rent" too risque for high schools?

Though I spend a bunch of my time looking through articles, a friend of mine sent me this New York Times piece on how a toned-down version of Rent is considered as too much by some high schools, particularly because of it's accepted behavior on homosexuality as well as it's highlights on drugs and H.I.V

"[Ron Martin, the theater teacher and director here at Corona del Mar High School] said his principal, Fal Asrani, had objected to the show because of its treatment of “prostitution and homosexuality.” “When I heard that, I stopped her and looked her in the eye and said, ‘First, there is no prostitution in ‘Rent,’ and second, homosexuality is not wrong,’ ” Mr. Martin said. “She made no comment. It was the most demoralizing, disappointing moment in my career as a teacher.”
Click here to read the piece.

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Answers and a Short Film

Huh, who could have guessed that Friday's post was written by a gay man? Well, thanks to the wonders of second-semester-Senior-dom, looks we'll have at least two people posting on here. Isn't that great?? So, you guys know the drill: drop us an anonymous question/comment (or anything, really) HERE, and enjoy some of the links and videos. So, here are some answers to a question we got a few weeks ago.

Q: I am homophobic but I just found out someone really close to me is gay. How do I get over my homophobia?

A1: Try talking to them about what being gay means to them, how they feel it defines them as people.
       Try talking or thinking about (alone or with them) the fact that their sexuality isn't their single characteristic as a person and that you cared about them before you knew they were gay, so it doesn't have to change your friendship.
       If you think they are up for it, try talking about what about being gay makes you uncomfortable. Maybe they can explain some things or convince you to see otherwise, as they are a flesh and blood incarnation of the concept.
       Maybe try coming to GSA a few times and being around more people who identify as gay but whom you might get along with and become comfortable with, as well as their sexual orientations.

A2: Agreed -- realize that the person you know and love is still just that -- they haven't changed, and neither has your friendship. Don't stop hanging out with them, definitely, but if they're acting "overly gay" around you, and it's making you uncomfortable, talk to them. DON'T tell them to stop being who they are, but, say, if they're talking about something explicitly homosexual, let them know you're not at a place where you're comfortable discussing that aspect of their life. You want to preserve your connection, but you don't want to feel pressured to talk about things you're not comfortable with.
       Honestly, if you just try to accept their sexuality as part of who they are -- and not just "what they are" -- the homophobia won't be an issue for too long. Familiarize yourself with the idea that being gay doesn't change the way this person feels about you, so you should grant them the same.

Short Film: Girl Talk
(One of the winners of the AfterEllen Short Film Contest--found it HERE.)
Throughout the school day, Kelly’s friends, especially her best friend, Jordan (Sarah Croce), attempt to get the details from her about the date, and eventually we discover exactly why Kelly’s been keeping it a secret. It's so cliche that it becomes good. Or maybe that's just me. Well, I think it's cute. Enjoy!


Friday, February 13, 2009

What I've Come Across

I haven't written a post in ages, and thought I'd compile a list of some gay things I've come across in the last few days and just wanted to see what your guys' thoughts were.

First is this which I found on PostSecret:


Just found it interesting and a bit sad.

Then I revisited this, which I always find great:

Um. It's gay and it's Cher. I don't mean to reinforce any stereotypes, but it's just very good. I want the GSA show to be like that. But with more lights. And shiny things.

Oh, I guess that was it.

Sunday, February 8, 2009

The Six-Million Dollar Blowjob, Part II

Kenneth Star Goes After the Gays

Found this at Grace the Spot.

So, Kenneth Star was this guy who spent six million dollars of taxpayer money to prosecute Bill Clinton for that one blowjob. Well, just to spread around the hate, he's going after the gays now. As despicable as this man is, the video some of the Californians have put together to combat him is one of the sweetest things I've seen in a while.




Book Review: The Realm of Possibility
Written by David Levithan (who, among other things, co-edited The Full Spectrum, a book of GLBTQ short stories that I'll get around to reviewing sooner or later), Realm of Possibility isn't a "gay book"--it's a book with a little bit of gayness in it. It's got twelve (if I remember right) chapters, each in different forms of poetry or crazy prose or even song lyrics, written by a different character. It's incredibly well done; each of the characters has their own distinct voice, personality, and story, from even the shortest of chapters, and the way the characters intertwine is gorgeously done. I'm reviewing this on here because a friend recommended it to me when I was looking for "gay books"--like I said, it's not really gay-with-a-capital-G, but it has quite a few queer characters, and they're treated as just part of the storyline. It makes me really happy--I can still get my dose of gay lit, but without the gayness bashing me over the head, without the gayness being the selling point of the book. Even without the slight degree of queerty, this is a really well written book, and y'all should check it out.

Remember to drop us a comment, question, news item, or anything else. (I'm definitely always looking for book and music recommendations!)

Sunday, February 1, 2009

Answer(s) 2/1/09

Happy February everyone! Here's a question and a few answers. Drop us an anonymous question (including a group question, if there's something you'd like to see answered by the entire GSA) HERE, or feel free to leave us anything else that we might find interesting--comment, feedback, news item that you'd like to see posted on here, anything like that. Also: the GSA's trying to get a cultural show started, which will happen some time around... um... March, or one of those months that comes after March. We're not too solid on the specifics yet. But it'll happen at some point, and if you're interested in doing something for it, you should look for posters some time in the next couple of weeks. Oh, and go see REP (this Thursday 4p, Friday 4p & 8p, Saturday 7p)!!

......Q: "i don't think i'm lesbian, but i kinda want to try making out with my friend (who's a girl). i'm almost positive she'll be open to it, as she's said before that she thinks she's bi, but how would you suggest something like that? i don't want it to be dreadfully awkward."

..........A1: Well, generally these things happen at sleepovers, either with a bunch of girls or just you and her. At 2 AM it's impossible for anything to be dreadfully awkward, i promise. I'd explain it to her exactly the way you just did, that you don't think you're interested in girls but you kinda want to make out with her, to see what it's like or whatever, and see what she says. Chances are she won't think it's weird or awkward at all. If you do end up making out though, make sure there are no misunderstandings afterwards. Make it clear that you're not in love with/interested in her (unless, of course, you suddenly find that you are, which happens sometimes) and that it was just a casual, one time thing, and you should be able to avoid any post-hook up awkwardness.

..........A2: In some cases, this can be a dream situation. But, in all honesty, you have to tread carefully because something like this could potentially hurt your friendship. You have to seriously weigh what you would be gaining over what you might lose, and consider the strength of your friendship and whether something like this can be tossed aside or if it'd be something that'd hang in the air for a while. I really, heavily believe in the whole "honesty is the best policy" idea, and as much fun as a chase could be, I'm not sure if this a chase situation. Or you could just try a semi-date sort of approach, where you two go out for coffee or to watch a movie, and kind of just see where it goes. Good luck!

The "Question Box"

Hey guys--
so, we've obviously not been sticking to the regular update schedule, and we're certainly no longer doing questions in batches of one or two weeks. So instead of having a new post each week where you're supposed to comment with questions, we're opening it up--it doesn't really matter which post you comment on with a question, write it anywhere and we'll get it. And of course, it all remains anonymous. But, because hyperlinks are fun, any occasion I have to say "click HERE to ask us a question," I'll like to this post for simplicity's sake. Anyway, hope that's not too convoluted. Basically: post your questions anywhere, and they'll get answered. Cheers, guys!

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

A Single Response...

Wow, I suck at keeping up with a blog. Sorry, I'm ridiculous. More comments/questions will force me to get my ass in gear, though. Anyway:

Q: hey so i'm a bicurious girl in one of the youngish grades. and last night, i had a shockingly graphic sex dream in which i was a guy and i was with a girl...i don't know what that means. i have never had a wish to be anything but a girl, and i think i'm primarily straight. so does this mean something deeply disturbing, or is it just random?

A: If you don't think it means anything, then it probably doesn't mean anything. Dreams can be random as all hell, and not always significant. Of course, they can mean things--but no connotations of this dream are deeply disturbing. If it's not just a weird manifestation of social stuff, it could be a sign that you're questioning your gender, but no one would know this better than you. If your conscious self doesn't know about it, don't worry about it. My advice is to just sit down and think about anything you think the dream might be saying--and if you realize something about yourself, great, if not, your dream was just a dream. (And of course, if I didn't state it explicitly enough back there, questioning your gender isn't "deeply disturbing," it's perfectly normal, and if you end up needing any advice on that, shoot us a comment.

Q: How do you come out to your parents if they are homophobic?

A: Before you do anything, please consider this question: can you guarantee that no physical harm will come to you if you come out? If the answer is no, you might want to wait until you are out of the house before saying anything because, although it's great to be true to yourself, nothing is more important than your safety. If you feel like you really, really have to confess, prepare yourself for anything. If you want your coming out to run smoothly, you must set up a game plan beforehand. Consider timing: when is a time that your parents won't be tired, distracted and/or upset? Plan for the worse case scenario. Try to have an adult ally with you, or at least someone who you trust to help if the situation gets bad. Have a place in mind that you can spend some time at if tensions escalate. And, most importantly, have faith and confidence in both yourself and the love your family has for you. Just because they don't understand it now, doesn't mean they never will. Be patient, and don't rush!

Sunday, January 4, 2009