Monday, June 15, 2009

Goodbye Until Next Year!

Hey, so here's one last question that's been sitting in the GSA's inbox for a while. Nothing's going to be posted on here over the summer (I know, because we post so frequently during the school year...) but the blog will start up again (for real this time!!) next year. Of course, feel free to keep commenting/asking us questions, and we'll answer them all when school starts up again. So HAVE A WONDERFUL SUMMER and we'll see you next fall!

Q: I've been really close with one of my female friends (I'm a girl) for two years now, although we've been friends for ages. We're really physical with each other + sexually open and stuff -- for example, whenever we're together, we're always touching really closely or lying on top of each other, and it's not awkward at all. She's like this with a lot of her other friends too, though, so I don't think it's sexual. Both of us are (primarily) straight, and we spend a lot of time talking about guys and obsessing over celebrities.
Recently, though, we've been spending three or four hours talking over IM each night, and on the nights when she has too much homework to talk, I become pathetically depressed and I don't know what to do. On the other hand, last weekend she was away until Sunday night, and when I got an email from her at 11 at night I became ridiculously happy. If she were a guy, I'd think I had a crush on her, but since I'm only bicurious I don't know. (I've wanted to try kissing her for a a while now, although I've also wanted to try kissing one of my other friends, because they're both pretty and open to...whatever. I'd say I'm more attracted to guys, though.)
So I don't know if it's a really close friendship or something else. I'm not averse to it being something else, although I know she wouldn't return my feelings if I actually had them (she wouldn't freak out, though). But I really don't know what's going on.
Advice?

A: I would say that the best thing you could do would be to talk to her about your conflicted feelings. It seems to basically come down to this: you're very good friends (so you're already deeply emotionally connected), you're comfortable being physically close to each other, and you think you might want to try dating/hooking up with girls at some point. I think you should be honest with her about your feelings, stressing that you like spending time with her and being her friend and certainly don't want to ruin that friendship but that you may be interested in at least trying to make it more than a friendship. Maybe she feels the same way, and maybe she doesn't, but ultimately if you want to stay good friends with her I think you should be honest about your feelings, including your confusion. Your lying to her or just not telling her how you truly feel will ultimately hurt your friendship.
I also wouldn't worry so much about what the labels you've decided upon for yourselves imply you should be or do. Just because you think you're primarily straight doesn't mean that it's impossible for you to find girls attractive or want to be with them, and saying that you're "only bicurious" implies that you think that bicuriosity isn't enough to guarantee that this is a real crush. Ultimately, what matters is how you feel and what you're comfortable with, not what term you use to describe yourself. You can always switch the term.

Friday, May 29, 2009

Election Results are in!

Dear everyone who reads this blog,
if you weren't at GSA today, we had elections, and the results were as follows:
Co-Presidents: Maia McCormick & Lucie Prather
Publicity Secretary: Ariel Estrella
Treasurer: Filipa Ioannou
Recording Secretary: Hava Rogatsky

Congrats to all new officers and to everyone who ran. Next year will be a new, awesome year, and GSA will be better than ever--so if you read this blog and don't currently come to GSA, consider starting next year. It'll be awesome.

More answers going up soon. Stop by our carnival booth next week and get married!

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Pink Shirts Hurrah!


Submitted via comment (thank you to whoever sent me this, it made me smile, especially after watching the new NoM Monstrosity <-- not for the faint of heart--I'm not going to embed it, it's too disgusting and too much of a downer). Well, the gist of the article (which you can read HERE), is that, at some random school, this kid got harassed and called gay slurs and threatened with physical violence for wearing a pink shirt. So these two senior guys organized about half the school into coming in wearing pink shirts. The attackers got really angry and flustered. And it was a great statement. Absolutely terrific. I want to give those two guys a hug. Makes me happy ^^

Also, courtesy of Hava:

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Fruits of the Gender Workshop, DoS, a GLSEN Survey

So for anyone who follows this blog who didn't come to GSA this past Friday (unlikely, but hey, you never know), we did a gender workshop thing where everyone mapped (or attempted to map) their gender identity and gender presentation on this little chart thing where the Y-axis is male to female, and the X-axis is masculine to feminine. It was tough for a lot of us but enlightening, and the results are going to be posted on the GSA board some time this week--check them out. But I wanted to share possibly the best quote of the meeting, from Filipa describing how she graphed her gender identity: "so, I drew a sort of arch [spanning Female-Feminine to Female-Masculine] because I'm sort of everywhere. Then... I turned it into a stegosaurus. Because... my gender identity fluctuates like the spikes on a stegosaurus. And because sometimes I wish I could identify as a dinosaur."

Hunter's Day of Silence happens this Thursday!!! Day of Silence, for those of you who don't know, is a day when GLBTQ people and their allies choose to not speak for an entire day to show support of those who have been forced into silence and are not able to speak their minds or be themselves. It's a great way to raise awareness and show support. Hunter being the wonderful place it is, teachers are pretty chill about this and won't make a fuss about you not speaking during class (though you can't use DoS as an excuse to get out of oral reports, etc.). GSA will be handing out speaking cards for you to hand out to people (that say that you're participating in DoS) Thursday before school at the main entrance, or you can print out your own from GLSEN's website (pdf HERE). Some people who do DoS take a break and speak during their lunch hour, some people communicate via notes, some people do not communicate in any way at all. How you participate is up to you, but anything you can do--even just showing support to the people who are silent--helps. There may or may not be T-shirt making outside the auditorium tomorrow (Monday) after school; swing by.

And lastly, GLSEN has posted a survey about the experiences of GLBTQ youth in school (find it HERE); if you've got an extra 10 minutes, take a look at it.

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Day of Silence: Correction

Hey all. Hope everyone's break is going smashingly. So in the last post we mentioned that the idiots at GLSEN, love them though we do, put Day of Silence during our break (Friday, so be specific), so Hunter's having its own personal DoS Thursday, April 30th (the Thursday a week after we get back), with a follow-up meeting to discuss everyone's experiences the next day (Friday) at GSA (rm. 206). Also, the Monday before our DoS (that is, April 27th), after school there'll be T-shirt making, so you can paint your own message on a shirt to wear on DoS, whether you're being silent or just supporting those who are. If you've got any questions/would like to know more about DoS, leave us a comment! Peace out!

Thursday, April 9, 2009

Anyone But Me Watch "Anyone But Me?"

Ahaha, look at that title, I'm so witty. ANYWAY. Does anyone else watch Anyone But Me? It's a very fun gay little webseries by Tina Cesa Ward about teenage Vivian McMillan, who's forced to move from New York City (whoooo!) to Westchester because of her firefighter-father's health problems, leaving behind her life and, most importantly, her girlfriend, Astor. There are a few moments of weird/awkward voiceovers or lamentable music placement, but over all, this series is really well-acted and well-written, very personable, very true, and did I mention VERY CUTE? You can go to the Anyone But Me website HERE, and watch the episodes HERE. It's incredibly adorable, and has some wonnnnnderful moments of the warm-and-fuzzy variety, and really, I would just recommend following it. The first episode is below. HAPPY BREAK, EVERYBODY! Go out and celebrate Iowa and Vermont. (And Passover and Easter, I guess... but those aren't nearly as exciting. Except for the clearance candy.)

Oh, one more important piece of news: the official Day of Silence falls over our break this year (April 17, next Friday). Hunter's Day of Silence will be some time the week after we get back from break--keep your eyes peeled for blogposts/signs.

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

So Much Gay Marriage!!!!

In a wonderful wonderful wonderful way to kick off spring break, both Iowa and Vermont have legalized gay marriage!! Go out and celebrate! Marry a gay today!

YESSSSS!!!!